Apologetics Must-Read!

Beyond Opinion: Living the Faith We Defend

Author and General Editor: Ravi Zacharias

Looking for a brain stretcher? Or maybe a book that makes you rethink how you defend your faith? Or some practical advice on how to relate to an atheist or a Muslim when sharing the Gospel? Read this book. It was absolutely incredible. The author writes/compiles this book in answer to a question from a Hindu friend of his. The question was: “If this conversion is truly supernatural, why is it not more evident in the lives of so many Christians I know?”

I loved this book because it is practical. We always use Paul’s sermon on Mars Hill as an example of starting where the other person is when presenting the Gospel to them. But how often are we told how to start where they are? Not very often. If ever. This book does that. It looks at several different beliefs and tries to give you a better understanding of their perspective so that you know where to start. The beliefs are: postmodernism, atheism, youth, Islam, Eastern religions, and science. The chapter on youth was interesting. In today’s changing culture, we are presented with all new challenges from the youth of today. They are growing up in a very different world than we did, so we must approach them differently.

There were also chapters on evil and suffering, doubt and persecution. It can be difficult to explain to an atheist why God allows evil and suffering in the world if He is so good. I may know, but I can’t always express it as efficiently as I would like or need to. These chapters help you put those explanations into words.

I was expecting this to be a quick read. I’m usually done with most books this size in about 2 weeks. Maybe 3 if I’m busy. I’ve been reading this for like 5 weeks now. Granted, I was a bit busy…what with moving to another state and all. But still. It was a deep read. Not something to speed read through. Not that this was a bad thing. It just made me think. I wanted to read it because it was so interesting, but I had to save it for times when I could really focus on what I was reading. And like I said, this is not a bad thing. It is a very good thing. There are too many books on this kind of subject that is far too easy to read through quickly.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has a friend from another religion that they are trying to share the Gospel with. It can give you some great insights into what they believe and where you need to start.

Leave a Reply

